1. Health
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Stages of Pressure Ulcers

Stages I - IV of Pressure Ulcers


Updated May 15, 2014

Pressure ulcers are categorized into four stages depending on the level of tissue involvement, or depth of the sore. The tissue being referred to includes the skin and underlying dermis, fat, muscle, bone, and joint. Knowing the appropriate stage assists in the prognosis and management of the ulcer.

Stage I

Nonblanchable erythema of intact skin the heralding lesion of skin ulceration. In individuals with darker skin, discoloration, warmth, edema, induration, or hardness may be indicators.

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.

We comply with the HONcode standard
for trustworthy health
information: verify here.